ThunderHawk Modifications

This will border on being a rant… if you have no interest in what I have to say, scroll to the bottom to see what I have to offer:

Hello all! To the best of my testing, I felt months ago that ThunderHawk had gone just about as far as it could go for the Epic 4G on official firmware. Shortly afterwards, as you well know, I made the jump to the Galaxy S3. It was well worth the (2 year contract) wait! That said, I still have my Epic 4G (unless someone would like to buy it!) as well as my wife’s who also made the jump to the GS3.

Here’s my problem , I am now in possession of two (relatively) unused phones that are infinitely more capable than any previous phone I’ve previously owned, broken, gave away, or packed away. I generally keep at least my last phone as a backup as well as an emergency phone. I especially like to charge them up, turn them off, and take them camping/backpacking with me. But the Epic is still on par with the current average level for Android devices. Even left on Gingerbread, it has access to nearly every app I use on my GS3 or Touchpad, so I’ve been straining my head over how to best use it! Thanks to apps like Groove Ip and Spare Phone  I have coupled my phone with Google Voice and turned it into a full call/text capable Wifi phone which runs great under Airplane mode.

Using Wifi only, my Epic can last weeks in standby, just ready to be used in a moment’s notice. This is also great for being a media player, since it can last forever without the modem killing the battery! Which also makes it great as a gaming device. But while Airplane mode offers incredible extended battery capability, it limits me greatly. Bluetooth and GPS cannot be used. Which kills my final re-purpose capability, as a replacement car GPS (using CoPilot).

I have attempted to make it a better wifi-only device. I disabled the radio without entering Airplane mode and removed all phone-related apks. This may offer better still battery (not fully tested) and seems to allow bluetooth (not fully tested) but definitely kills gps, as the gps is apparently physically tied to the modem. It also permanently kills the modem until you re-flash a rom. If you’re interested in a wifi only device for better battery for something like Gaming, Wifi phone, Mp3 player, etc. then I have made this into a patch for ThunderHawk or any rom really. I’ve also made a quick non-formatting restore rom version that can be used to restore phone functionality at any time.

If you have any interest in these two files, leave comments and let me know!

UPDATE: Looks like I’ll clean up the files and post them.

-RandomKing

6 responses to “ThunderHawk Modifications

    • It just… I can’t.. it’s so hard! When my phone could only text, call, and take crappy pictures, I junked them when I got a new device that did all of that better. But THESE. These are fully functioning computers with or without a data connection. I’d give one to my son if he’d do more than bite it…

  1. I was wondering, is there a way you could replace the phone function with the Google Talk counterparts?

    • I assume you’re looking to use your epic as a Google talk phone? Google talk itself is not a phone replacement app, you need one of the neat Google voice apps out there like Spare Phone.

Leave a Reply

