Galaxy S3 Android 4.3 update

I’ve just received my notification. Obviously, i can’t flash it over my rom. But i look forward to playing with it and integrating this long awaited update! Finally something interesting!

-RandomKing

8 responses to “Galaxy S3 Android 4.3 update

  1. Be careful of KNOX, if you flash the 4.3 bootloader you can not flash a previous bootloader or you’ll bring your phone.

    XDA is replete with KNOX bricks and information, they have some stock roms coupled with the MD4 bootloader so you can use 4.3 code w/o having KNOX installed.

    I hope all is well with you and the family.

  2. Glad to see you are working on MK3. I unfortunately saw some seeming improvements on my wife’s unrooted GS3 after the update. I returned to stock, received the update, AND THEN DISCOVERED KNOX!!! When I tried to undue what the 4.3 update had done and return to a previous stock ROM, the phone bricked! Couldn’t seem to flash any OS. Finally after 2 days someone pointed me to the MK3 tar file that was finally released and I was able to at least return to stock MK3. Since then I managed to get root and found a “remove knox” flash package. So I am rooted, deKnoxed and waiting for someone to develop a “bare bones” ROM so I can add only the apps I want. In case you are still working on your next project, perhaps I might suggest, blue theme and absolute minimal apps (No Samsung or Sprint stuff). Anyway, I have used and appreciated your work in the past and await your next production.

    As always, Thanks,

    Carl

  3. The following is an XDA link to the method I used to root and remove Knox and Samsung bloatware AFTER OTA 4.3 GS3 update. It is actually on the GS4 section. Thanks to galaxys3man30 for posting it and BIGSAMDA1ST for pointing me to it.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2511156&highlight=de-samsungizer+script

    By the way, I thought I ought to clarify how I got where I am. My GS3 actually bricked when I tried to Odin an old LEN tar file. It gave me a fail notification. And would not allow me to download anything until I was pointed to the MK3 tar.

    Hope this is helpful and clear.

    Carl

Leave a Reply

