Sprint Releases LG G2 Lollipop Update at Last!

So LG and Sprint finally came through with the Android 5.0 Lollipop update. With the exception of my missing lockscreen weather widget…. there seems to be a lot to love about the update. Seamless integration with all of the Material design changes being made out there to my favorite apps is quite appealing to the eye. I truly love the simplified look in that regard.

So the first question with a new OTA update for me is what do I do with my KitKat rooted and debloated G2? I certainly can’t take the update like this!

Well, the first step I had to take was to flash my phone. Using the hacked LG Flash tool readily available across XDA, I was able to flash the latest TOT file I could find, Sprint ZVE to my phone. All I had to do after that was wait for ZVG to download (or you can download the OTA), and I pushed the update through.

The next step was to get the LG One Click Root Tool graciously made available by Ascertion. This tool did a fantastic job of rooting my phone. You can find the link to the download and detailed instructions here.

The final step may not be necessary for everyone out there. The last thing I did was to flash TWRP recovery onto my phone, freeing me up to be able to flash anything I want. If you’re happy with just a rooted G2, then you don’t need to do this. If you want to go flash happy, then head on over here.

If you’re looking for some debloated stock roms, check out this and this.

-RandomKing

Leave a Reply

